Driving Under The Influence Can Have Serious Consequences. Therefore, You Need Serious Help.
The law is very strict when it comes to driving under the influence. In North Dakota and Minnesota, the states have mandatory minimum jail times and fines even for first offenses, so you need to have a trusted and experienced DUI defense team on your side to help you. The consequences of a DUI conviction on your record can go beyond simple fines, jail time and suspension of your license, following you as you apply for jobs, credit and loan applications and other background checks. That is why it is essential that you get the help you need to protect yourself.
What Are The Potential Consequences Of A DUI In North Dakota And Minnesota?
North Dakota and Minnesota each have made it a priority to aggressively prosecute DUI and DWI charges. In North Dakota, for a first offense, you can be facing a misdemeanor charge with a minimum $500 fine with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .16 or less. Above that threshold, the punishments can include a two day imprisonment and potentially losing your license for 180 days for your first offense. Subsequent offenses within 7-15 years can significantly raise the fines and imprisonment time that you could face, with your fourth offense qualifying as a felony.
In Minnesota, they have a similar approach. For a first offense DWI misdemeanor charge, you can be fined up to $1,000 along with up to 90 days of jail time. Minnesota applies aggravating factors such as the presence of a minor or the level of your BAC when you are tested to determine how sever the punishments may be. At the highest range, for a fourth offense DWI felony charge, you can be fined up to $14,000 and face up to seven years of prison time. With punishments this severe, you cannot afford to go up against the state without an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side.